TribeNwater  

Go Back   TribeNwater > TribeNwater Boats > Maintence / Questions / Tutorials

Maintence / Questions / Tutorials Thread, Yamaha 70 overheating in TribeNwater Boats; As some of you know I have been having trouble with my engine over heating. I thought I had found ...

LinkBack (5) Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2008, 08:09 AM   5 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. #1 (permalink)

Yamaha 70 overheating

As some of you know I have been having trouble with my engine over heating. I thought I had found the problem with a gummed up Thermostat. I replaced the thermostat, and a test run up the river didn't produce any overheating.

Last weekend I went shad fishing, and didn't make it 200 yds from the ramp and the overheat alarm went off.

This past weekend I decided to tear it down and see what I could find. Let me start by saying, "I'm no mechanic". Well, the first order of business was to get the bolts out of the cylinder head. This was my go or go to the mechanic point. If I could get the bolts out, I was going forward, but I did not want to end up with broken bolts in the block. Amazingly they were all pretty easy, except for the bottom two bolts. Slow steady pressure did the trick though, and I was able to get them all out.

I pulled the head cover off, and was greeted with This:

This is the inside of the head cover:

Next I decided to pull the exhaust cover and exhaust manifold to see what things looked like in there. At this point I hadn't mustered up enough nerve to pull the cylinder head.

Here's a pic with the outer and inner exhaust covers pulled off. This was after a little cleaning. I forgot to take a pic when I pulled it off.

Well, I had made it this far so next up was pulling the cylinder head. Yikes: